You are currently viewing List of Successful Students Loan Applicants for the AY2021/22 (Lot 1 Institutions)

List of Successful Students Loan Applicants for the AY2021/22 (Lot 1 Institutions)

The State Minister for Higher Education, Hon. Dr. Chrysestom Muyingo has this morning released the list of the 8th Cohort of successful applicants for study loans under the Students’ Loan Scheme for the Academic Year 2021/22.

The list includes successful applicants from “Lot 1” institutions who applied to study various Undergraduate degree and Undergraduate diploma programmes in 4 Public Universities and 12 Private Chartered Universities.

During the event hosted at the Uganda Media Center, Hon. Muyingo congratulated Board members and secretariat staff at the Higher Education Students’ Financing Board (HESFB) for the tireless effort in processing the 8th Cohort of study loans under the Students Loan Scheme thereby supporting qualified but needy Ugandan youth to access higher education.

In his report, the Executive Director, HESFB, Mr. Michael Wanyama said that this year’s list will be released in “lots” given that some institutions had delayed the admission process while in others students had commenced studies.

According to the release report, the Board received a total of 4,797 Loan applications for Lot I institutions and of these 3,926 were appraised and found eligible for support. The remaining 871 applications were rejected as they were found to lie outside the eligibility criteria. Of the processed total of 3,926 applications, 2,856 (72.7%) were male applicants while 1,070 (27.3%) were female applicants.

 “Lot I which we are releasing today, was allocated 920 students to utilize UGX. 3,802,500,000, of which 120 are finalist under the Continuing Students Loan, 735 are undergraduate Degree students while 65 students are pursuing undergraduate Diplomas. Of these 464 or 50.4% are males while 456 or 49.6% are females.”

Mr. Wanyama said that ‘Lot II institutions’ will be allocated UGX 2,247,500,000 to support 380 undergraduate Degree students and 235 Diploma Students.

In the AY2021/22 Government allocated funds to support 1600 Students under the Students’ Loan Scheme. Lot 1 institutions include;

  1. African Bible University
  2. Bishop Stuart University
  3. Bugema University
  4. ISBAT University
  5. Islamic University in Uganda
  6. Kampala International University
  7. Kampala University
  8. Mountains of the Moon University
  9. Ndejje University
  10. Nkumba University
  11. Uganda Christian University
  12. Uganda Martyrs University
  13. Mbarara University of Science and Technology
  14. Kabale University
  15. Busitema University
  16. Muni University

Download the List of Successful Students Loan Applicants for the AY2021/21

This Post Has One Comment

  1. Alfred

    How is the loan repayed?

Leave a Reply